BWSC ’19



World Solar Challenge is a competition which involves solar-powered cars that started its first race back in 1987. Every two years, this 3,000 km race from Darwin, North Australia to Adelaide, South Australia has welcomed teams comprises of brilliant minds from over 30 centuries. In 2017, the World Solar Challenge celebrates its 30th year of the prestigious event. There were 42 solar car teams from all over 21 countries participated in 2017. In this upcoming 2019 event, they will most likely to return again and compete in BWSC 2019.



The competition was divided into three classes. The Challenger class is for the single-seated solar cars designed to be fast. The Cruiser Class is for efficient, practical solar cars with two or more seats. Lastly, the Adventure class is a non-competitive class for solar cars built for previous events. Cruiser class has a much more complicated scoring system that takes the solar cars’ performance, charging times, practicality, and even the design of the car. The Challenger class has a more straight forward scoring system; the first to arrive, wins.




UiTM Eco Photon have participated in the World Solar Challenge twice with our car, “Stingray” in 2015 and “Tuah” in 2017. For this upcoming event, Eco Photon will once again compete in Challenger class. This time, the team aims to build a new car with an extensive study on the aerodynamics and design of the car to further reduce the power consumption of the car.